top of page

Q&A with Maverick TV


What inspired you?

Ever since I was little I have always had my head stuck in an art box trying to recreate Blue Peter's and Art Attack's wacky creations. I grew up making hand crafted boxes, wooden pieces of art, hand made cards and lots of other bits and bobs. I spent a lot of time doing art with my nan with her teaching me tricks along the way. I have also always had a keen interest in working with computers and making blogs and designing posters or album art work. So putting them both together was my idea of a happy job!

· Was there a point in time that you can remember thinking ‘that’s what I want to do?’

I worked in Virginia, USA, for two summers as a counselor for physically and mentally disabled adults where I spent a lot of time teaching them how to make scrap books, wax art, painting, tye dye and various other pieces. Being able to make a change in their life through art and designs and spending time with people who are also interested in the creative sector showed me I wanted to do it for a living.

· Did you spend time in the arts at primary school?

I always loved writing stories as a child and doing the illustrations for it (no matter how bad they were at a young age). Throughout school, progressing onto secondary school I had a passion for drama class and how the use of music within productions could have such a massive impact.

· How have you progressed in your chosen subject?

I have gone from sitting in front of a TV copying everything off Art Attack, to travelling alone to America and teaching Mentally and physically disabled adults how to use art in different ways wether it be with their mouth if that was their only means, to helping blind people enjoy the use of art as therapy, I then did a trial of going to elderly people's care homes and trying to teach them how to use IT in order to keep in contact with their loved ones to stop them feeling so lonely and use Kindles to read books and make the font bigger as their eyes deteriorated. To now, sitting in front of a huge mac screen learning new software and graphic design with digital marketing to finally get somewhere I want to be.

· Describe the kind of thing you do and why you like it so much?

I am a Level 3 Digital Marketing apprentice and with this my responsibilities include social media, designing e-flyers, organising monthly events for other apprentices and interns to keep them in the know about whats going on in the arts and creative sector. Networking events and general administration. I love the role I am in as I get to do so many different things and meet so many different people along the way. I get to use my creative mind and get my ideas put down whether it is in words, images or film.

· Did you ever think you’d be at the level you’re at now and why?

I always wanted to be in the position I am in, doing something I enjoy and learning at the same time with new challenges but I didn't know how to get into it. I only got to this point through joining the BBC Make It Digital traineeship. I never wanted to go to college or university, so an apprenticeship suits me down to the ground.

· How does it feel to be successful at what you do?

I think a lot of people underestimate how much hard work and how time consuming it is to get to a point you are happy with in a project in the creative sector. It is such a positive feeling when you go to a networking event or a launch event and see people's progress or final pieces and how proud they are of it, what is even nicer? The amount of people that show up to show support in the arts.

· What would you like to do in this area in the future?

I want to inspire people to get involved in the creative sector as I don't think many people realise how much you can get out of it.

· What groups or organisations have you worked with?

BBC Academy, Camp America, Creative Alliance, The Challenge, Eggleston Services

· What would you tell a 5 year old about what you do and what they should do if they have the same passion as you?

I would tell them that if they enjoy finger painting, dot to dot or any other such creativity as much as I did, this is the grown up equivalent! - using different methods of creation you can get to any point you want to in life.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page