top of page

Why you should become an apprentice


Many people do not understand or realise the powerful benefits of becoming an apprentice. Well, I'll tell you as an apprentice myself in Digital Marketing for a learning provider, I get to see it all from behind the scenes. Fortunately for us, apprentices are in high demand due to the rise of university fees. With an apprenticeship you get many opportunities that; graduates lack, employers demand and a kick start into the career you want to be in. There is nothing to lose.

I have always been a bit of 'Jack of all trades and master of none' in the sense that I didn't really ever know what I wanted to do after I left school, I've worked in America as a mental health counselor, worked as a supervisor in a supermarket and had various experiences in computing. I finally feel settled in an industry I see a future in, now I just have to make the most out of my 12 months to make sure I can prove to someone they see a future in me.

Experience Experience Experience! All employers want somebody who is full of experience in the industry, so instead of being stuck in a degree for 3+ years and having to start from the beginning you get to work in the real world with real employers. During this time you will have had the chance to network and will have made good contacts along the way; keep them.

In June, I was lucky enough to be snapped up by Creative Alliance as a Level 3 Digital Marketing apprentice. It was the best decision I've committed to - the amount of opportunities I have already had within a month and a half is more valuable than any 'job' I've had and I already have so much value added to my CV from these opportunities.

Up Up and Away! One of the huge benefits to completing an apprenticeship is the qualification you get out of it at the end and it can only get higher. Each year you have the chance to take on a higher level advanced apprenticeship qualification which is nationally recognised, you are constantly building a CV and portfolio; take as many opportunites as you can.

College and university didn't appeal to me, by the time I was 15, I was bored of being in a classroom, although I still wanted to learn as I enjoyed it so much. Now? Now I have the best of both worlds learning on the job in a work environment.

Earn While You Learn! You get the best of both worlds, getting money in your pocket while you learn. Get used to having a pay cheque at the end of the month; just one of the riches you get out of becoming a modern apprentice. Research shows that apprentices earn on average, over £100,000 more throughout their lifetime than other employees.

An apprenticeship is a different path to take, some of you may never have expected to fall into an apprenticeship or some of you will have known its what you have always wanted to do. It's difficult to make decisions based just on 'what somebody on the internet said'. So here are some hard statistics;

· You have an 85% chance of staying in work after an apprenticeship.

· There is a 64% chance the employer who employed you for your apprenticeship to keep you on at the same company.

· You have a 32% chance of being promoted in your first 12 months of being an apprentice.

· 75% of apprentices take on new roles within their company for them to try out different jobs it gives you the best chance of finding out what you're future career is.

· You have a 15% better chance of getting a job with an employer compared to people who haven't done an apprenticeship


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page